Your child’s development – what to expect

Children develop more rapidly during the first five years of their lives than at any other time. This booklet has been written to help you as a parent know what to expect during these vitally important years
by focusing on the seven areas of learning and development which are covered in the EYFS.

In this guide, your child’s first five years have been divided up into six age bands which overlap. This is because every child
is different and children do not grow and develop at the same rate. It highlights what you might notice your child
doing at these points.

What to Expect, When? A Parents’ Guide

This guide to your child’s development has been published by the Government to help parents get their heads round what to expect at which ages and stages. It’s actually a really helpful booklet and we’ve recommended it a lot to parents at Harpole Day Nursery – you can download it here:

Free download – What to expect when

Your child’s development – what to expect